Top me with that

1 Aug

So I was saddle with dinner duty the other night by my mother. Came home from a full day of work, study and exams to blistering heat and dinner duty was depressing. As soon as I walked through that door I was greeted without a hey or hello, but with “you are making dinner tonight, we have fish make something with it”.Thanks a lot *note the sarcasm*

I stared at that fish for a while hoping that I could make it spontaneously cook with my laser vision. Unfortunately, that didn’t work. In my last resort, I went through the refrigerator for inspiration. In my search, I found some mangoes and some strawberries that nobody seems to want to eat. With it and a few other things laying around, I came up with this: Mango Strawberry Balsamic Vinegar Salsa!

Yeah, I know fruit in salsa? Balsamic Vinegar? Crazy right? No, but it was very delicious and refreshing. A little bit sweet balance with a bit of acid and a spicy kick at the end, this salsa would be great topped on any seafood. I had mine with some grilled salmon, but I am sure it would be just a awesome on some grilled shrimp or scallops.

For a complete meal, try it with a side of wild rice or a side of mixed spring greens for low carb diets. It is healthy and full of flavor. Mango and strawberries are good sources of vitamin C to boost that immune system.

Mango and Strawberry Balsamic vinegar Salsa

1 Medium ripe mango diced

6 Strawberries diced

1/4 Cup Diced Cucumber *optional

1/4 Cup Chopped Cilantro

1/8 Cup Chopped Red Onion

1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder/ minced garlic

1 Tsp Lime Juice

1/4 Tsp Black Pepper

1/2 Tsp Salt or to taste

1/4 Tsp Cayenne pepper or to taste

1/3 Cup Balsamic Vinegar

Combine all the ingredients into a bowl. Adjust salt and Cayenne Pepper to taste and let chill for 1 hour before serving. Makes approx 2 Cups of salsa

Leave a Reply

