Can you say BaBa Ghanoush?

3 Sep

If you cannot say it that is not a problem, I have a hard time saying it too. So my recent expedition to make my own hummus has left me with a tub of tahini that I am not sure what to do with. Then, as I was browsing the market and giant mound of beautiful purple objects came into my field of vision. No, it was not Barney the dinosaur. It was eggplant! Then I remembered there was that very delicious side dish that I cannot pronounce made with eggplant. Eggplant is truly a wonderful vegetable very high in fiber and a sweetness that is amazing when roasted or fried. Making baba ghanoush is very similar to making hummus. The only major difference is that instead of garbanzo bean, eggplant is used instead. So this is what it looks like: Baba Ghanoush

2 medium sized eggplants ( I used 4 medium Chinese eggplants)

1/4 C Tahini

1/2 C Greek nonfat yogurt

1/2 lemon juiced

2 large cloves of garlic

1/2 Tsp Salt

1. Roast your eggplant in a oven at 400 degrees F for 60 to 90 minuets depending on the size of your eggplants.

2. Take the roasted eggplants and put them in a plastic bag to cool. Letting them steam in the bag will make it a lot easier to peel later on

3. Peel off the skin of the eggplant and put into a large bowl and smash by hand until large chunks are no longer visible. If you prefer a smoother texture put the eggplant in a food processor. I personally like more texture in mine.

4. In a mortar, smash up the garlic with 1/4 tsp of salt until you have a garlic paste. Combine the garlic and eggplant in the bowl (or food processor), add lemon juice, tahini and yogurt.

5. Mix well and use the remainder of the 1/4 tsp of salt to adjust flavor to taste.

I really love this dish. It is just a versatile as hummus in its application, but sometimes I even eat it out of the tub.

Leave a Reply

