Review: Roxolana Restaurant and Wine Bar (Pasadena, CA)

26 Dec

Friend of Nerf, Jennifer, is back with another review of her dining experiences…

Roxolana Restaurant and Wine Bar

10/29/2011

First off, this was my first time at a Ukrainian and Russian Restaurant.  I had no idea what to expect, and since Allison had a Groupon for this particular establishment; well, we went and came out alive.  (No one got drunk, not until later that night.  I blame happy hour).

The Groupon consisted of 1 appetizer, 2 entrees (each value less $21.00), and a bottle of wine.

The first thing that came out was the wine.  I thought that this particular sparkling wine was delicious. This bottle was worth $28.

The appetizer we chose was the potato pancake with caviar and sour cream (value $11.95, sorry no picture).  I thought that the pancake tasted alright.  I wish ordered the cabbage and mushroom crepe (because people on Yelp thought it was delicious).

Now came the entrée, and honestly, this was the one of the most delicious I have had in a while.  The Chicken Kiev (value $20.95) is rolled chicken breast stuffed with herb butter; also served with white rice and vegetables.  The dipping sauce that’s pictured is pineapple orange infused sauce.  Once this dish was put down in front of me, I wondered what was so great about it.  Someone had said that this dish was magical on yelp.  I finally understood why.  I started to cut into the chicken, and the first thing I saw was the herb and butter inside the chicken oozing out.  Also in this picture, you would think that the chicken looked small, but it’s not!  I got full after one!  I did not think I could get up from the chair.  I wanted to be rolled out of the restaurant. Plus, it even tasted better the next day.  Well worth it.

Allison ordered the French Style Meat (value $18.95) with the choice of veggies and fried potatoes.  The French Style Meat is beef and onions with cream reduction topped with provolone cheese.  I had a bite of this, and we both thought it was too well done.  Then again, she didn’t have a choice as to how it was cooked.  Easy to say that if she comes back here, she will just order the Chicken Kiev.

Now for dessert, we ordered the Red Wine Mousse (value $5.50).  I haven’t had a good mousse in a while and mostly I had them only at buffets. I thought it tasted smooth and light.  I wish that I have another cup sitting in front of me right now.  I will definitely order this again.

Overall experience, I say that this restaurant received 8/10.  The service was great; we got seated before our reservation time, and they did not bug us while we were eating, which was a plus.  Really, who wanted to be asked “how’s it taste?” when you are still chewing on a piece of meat?

One Response to “Review: Roxolana Restaurant and Wine Bar (Pasadena, CA)”

  1. Julie (A Case of the Runs) December 26, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    This was an awesome review, Jennifer! I wondered if that new place was any good. I’ve seen that chicken oozy butter dish before, and yeah, it looked pretty amazing.

Leave a Reply

