Alive and well!

16 Dec

Hello all, it’s been awhile and I’m sorry about that, but as Nerf 1 pointed out I recently moved to Chicago and am just starting to get settled down. Even though it’s mid December, the weather here has been surprisingly warm for the past six weeks I’ve been here but we had our first really big rainy day yesterday. What better dish for lunch than soup on a rainy day? But I didn’t want just Campbell’s chicken soup, I wanted something healthy with some saltiness and not too much fuss so I went to my go to favorite dish of udon with shitake mushrooms and spinach. It’s not quite a soup because there isn’t a bowl full of broth but I really love it because it’s easy and quick to make.  I got the recipe about a year ago off of NPR from an article all about tofu but because the recipe is so simple I don’t follow it exactly. For example, the recipe calls for about 10 shitake mushrooms, but I love mushrooms so much I add about 20 and a mixture of shitake and oyster. Basically I use whatever amount of whatever I have (half a bag of spinach instead of the instructed 4 cups of spinach) and it comes out tasty every time. Here is the recipe but tweak it however you’d like!

Image

1 tsp of toasted sesame oil

1 block of tofu (I use extra firm for easiness), cubed

2 teaspoons of olive oil (I honestly forgot about this ingredient all the times I’ve made this. I just either use the toasted sesame oil left behind or use a little more from the bottle).

6 cloves of garlic, sliced

10 shitake mushrooms, sliced with stems removed

4 cups of spinach

4 Tbs of soy sauce (I use low sodium soy sauce because I find regular soy sauce way too salty for my taste)

2 Tbs of sesame seeds

2 bunches of udon

Instructions:

  1. Cook the udon according to the package instructions.
  2. Over medium heat, heat the toasted sesame oil in a pan.
  3. Lightly fry all sides of the tofu cubes; when finished put in a bowl and set aside.Image
  4. Now add the olive oil to the same pan and add the garlic cooking for a few minutes over low heat.
  5. Add the mushrooms and a tiny bit of water; cook until tender.
  6. Add the spinach and soy sauce and cook until spinach is wilted.Image
  7. After being drained, add udon noodles and mix into vegetables.
  8. Toss in tofu and sesame seeds.
  9. Enjoy!Image
Leave a Reply

